Review: Pride by Rachel Vincent (Shifters #3)

Title: Pride
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publisher: Mira Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4/5

Why I picked it: Book #3 in the Shifters series, which I am really, really starting to enjoy.

Synposis (from back of book): Here’s hoping cats do have nine lives.  I’m on trial for my life. Accused of infecting my human ex-boyfriend—and killing him to cover up the crime. Infecting a human is one of three capital offenses recognized by the Pride—along with murder and disclosure of our existence to a human.

I’m two for three. A goner.

Now we’ve discovered a rogue stray terrorizing the mountainside, hunting a wild teenage tabbycat. It’s up to us to find and stop him. With my lover Marc’s help, I think I can protect the vulnerable tabby from both the ambitious rogue and the scheming of the territorial council.  If I survive my own trial….

Review:  Wow! What a page turner! This book begins right where the last one left off and from the moment I started reading it, I was sucked in. Faythe Sanders is on trial for the infection and murder of her human boyfriend.  While she is still frustrating, and way too outspoken, the events of this book really help me identify more with her and, dare I say, even LIKE her. While she is waiting for the Council to reach their verdict, new events occur that really test Faythe’s maturity, as well as the bonds of her Pride. What I really enjoyed in this book is the greater focus on Pride relationships as a whole. Rachel Vincent has really left out no detail in creating this world of werecats that have their own distinctive ways of governing and law.

Some of the events of this 3rd part of the series can be hard to read. I would even classify certain scenes to be horrifying. After reading this addition, I have no clue how I found this book in the “Romance” section of my bookstore. The sex is basically nonexistent and the best part of all is that…I don’t care.

This book also introduces new characters that are really compelling. I loved Elias Keller, the bruin (werebear) that fits perfectly into the “gentle giant” stereotype.  Other new additions include members of the Territorial Council, as well as a new character with unexpected origins, whose story is heart-wrenching. I can’t wait to read more about them in the continuation of the series.

Overall, the book was a great read. It really built on the foundations established in the previous novels and made me very happy that I stuck with the series. As I suspected, Faythe is really starting to grow and become a bad-ass bitch, instead of a whiny, spoiled one. Onto the next book in the series!

Leave a Reply

