Review: Prey by Rachel Vincent (Shifters #4)

Title: Prey
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publisher: Mira Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Rating:3/5

Why I picked it: Book #4 in the Shifters series, which I am really, really starting to enjoy.

Synposis (from back of book):  SOMETIMES PLAYING CAT AND MOUSE IS NO GAME…

Play? Right. My Pride is under fire from all sides, my father’s authority is in question, and my lover is in exile. Which means I haven’t laid eyes on Marc’s gorgeous face in months. And with a new mother and an I-know-everything teenager under my protection, I don’t exactly have time to fantasize about ever seeing him again.

Then our long-awaited reunion is ruined by a vicious ambush by strays. Now our group is under attack, Marc is missing, and I will need every bit of skill and smarts to keep my family from being torn apart. Forever.

Review: I know I am not going to voice the popular opinion and give this book a lot of high praise. Frankly, “Prey” disappointed me and I found it to be my 2nd least favorite in the series. Parts of it dragged, and I feel that the author actually made Faythe take a step backwards in terms of character development.

First of all, I have to mentioned that I loved LOVED the last book so I picked this one up with a voracious appetite to keep the story going. From the get-go, the book took a lot longer to capture my full attention, even during the “high action” scenes that have held me completely spellbound in previous books. Maybe it’s because the main conflict in this book is more of a political nature, or maybe it’s because side-characters, who I really didn’t care about, play a large role in this installment. Most of all though…there was the problem of Faythe.

It took me a while to get on the Faythe bandwagon and it was only during the previous book that I really started to enjoy her as a character. This book kind of negates a lot of that. She’s back to acting on impulse and never stopping to look at the consequences of her actions. The Faythe-Marc-Jace triangle reaches a new tipping point and it really makes me wonder what these guys see in her. I don’t respect Faythe for playing with emotions. I also don’t respect Faythe for being reckless with people’s hearts. She needs to make up her goddamned mind once and for all and stick to her decision. This triangle is almost as frustrating for me as the triangle of Sookie-Bill-Eric in Charlaine Harris’ “Sookie Stackhouse” series. Ugh.

The book was not an utter failure, though, and Vincent definitely does not disappoint in one major aspect – leaving you wanting more. Each book leaves you with so many cliffhangers or unresolved issues that you can’t help but crave the next installment of the series to answer those burning questions. Unfortunately, in “Prey,” I found myself guessing those “surprises” much more easily than the prior books.

Overall, this book was enjoyable enough but I’m glad I’m finished with it so that I can move onto the next one in the series.

Leave a Reply

