Review: Alpha by Rachel Vincent (Shifters #6)

Title: Alpha
Author: Rachel Vincent
Publisher: Mira Books
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Rating:4/5

Why I picked it: Last book in the Shifters series, which I have read all of.

Synopsis (From the back of the book): YOU’VE GOT TO HAVE FAYTHE…

The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc, and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder, and treason. Yeah, we’ve been busy. But now it’s time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother’s death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.

It’s not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I’m heading for a final showdown that can—that will—change everything forever.

Review: Geez. I thought I had a hard time trying to sort my thoughts after the last book. This one…well it’s even more difficult. The conclusion of this 6-book series certainly packs a punch, but the kind of punch where you’re not really trying to leave any bruise – if you know what I mean.

We knew what was coming in this book and the all-out war with Cal Malone is finally fought. After all the backstabbing (literally and figuratively), kidnappings, and arrests, Faythe and her Pride finally have the chance to get their payback. As with everything Faythe seems to be involved in, nothing comes easy. “Alpha” actually did raise my opinion of her, a lot. In particular, there is one scene where the reader is just left alone with Faythe and her thoughts as she shifts to heal her wounds. It was really powerful stuff and was the first time I thought to myself “Holy hell, that is one bad-ass and strong character.”

With that being said, I don’t think there’s enough progression in Faythe overall to make the “Faythe haters” change their minds. As a matter of fact, I can’t tell if I grew to like her more than I did initially or if I just got used to her. What I can tell you is that I did grow to love some of the secondary characters in this book, and Rachel Vincent had them frame Faythe so well that, for me, they became more important than the main character herself.

As a finale, the book is not without heart-wrenching events and “OMGWTF!” moments, but I found it to be much more subdued than in say, “Pride.” You’re very aware that the series is winding down and that Rachel Vincent is wrapping things up. There are still action-packed scenes but they feel rushed compared to the epic battles portrayed in the previous books.

Rachel Vincent clearly has a gift for storytelling. The world she creates is so rich and so well though out that the main bonus, for me, of reading Shifters was to be more and more immersed into that.  Overall though, I did enjoy the series and this book was as decent of an ending as any would have been. Would I recommend it to others? Yes! But I would also warn them that if by Book 2 or 3, they still completely hate Faythe, to not even bother with the rest.

Leave a Reply

